A No Paper Layout with Shimmerz Paints!

Hello my friends!! Today I’m sharing a textured filled layout using no paper!! This was created with some Shimmerz Paints products, WRMK Stencil, stickers, a black fine point Sharpie marker & craft foam!

I’m totally a paper lovin’ girl but I love how this turned out. I started out by using a 12×12″ WRMK stencil with 4 different textures. I cut mine into 4 sections for easier handling. I used a few pieces of washi tape to secure the stencil onto my American Crafts white cardstock and used an old gift card to spread the Spun Sugar Dazzlerz onto it, smoothing it out. I also used the Coloringz to paint on some additional pops of color in the corners of the layout. I then set it aside to dry.

After the Dazzlerz was dry I pulled out a couple of the Shimmerz Paints Coloringz in Mandarin Mai Tai & My Bleeding Heart and began to paint. I wanted to mimic the stained-glass colors in this picture of our daughter’s first communion. I also wanted to pull out a little bit of yellow and orange from my photo, as well as add in some black in the layout as well.

I tried something new this time and decided to use my Coloringz sprays to add some color on top of the Dazzlerz when it was dry. I wasn’t sure how this was going to work because of the smooth, shimmery surface of the Dazzlerz but it turned out awesome! When the Coloringz dried on top of the Dazzlerz the color was still vibrant and stayed in place. Just think of the possibilities!!

The black acetate Simple Stories stickers were the perfect amount of contrast for this layout. I love how they stand out against the white card stock and the textured background. To add some more pops of black I added the pretty black acetate butterfly (Simple Stories) and used my black fine tip Sharpie markers to hand draw the butterfly’s path. After I adhered the sticker I had a second thought to put the acetate sticker onto a piece of scrap card stock. I thought about fussy cutting around it and then popping up the butterfly with some fall that he says to add some dimension. But I didn’t want to pull up the butterfly and ruin any of the layout so I just left it. Next time!

Thanks so much for stopping by today and checking out my no paper, mixed media layout! Here’s a list of the supplies that I use to creat my layout:

Mandarin Mai Tai Coloringz spray

My Bleeding Heart Coloringz spray

Spun Sugar Dazzlerz

American Crafts white cardstock

Simple Stories I Am acetate stickers

Amy Tangerine Thickers

Maggie Holmes Gold Glitter Thickers

3 thoughts on “A No Paper Layout with Shimmerz Paints!

  1. I love this! It looks incredible and the details that you used really allow your amazing photo to shine and take center stage. I may have to try out this no paper idea and see what I can come up with!

Leave a Reply

