Scrap It Off! Design Team Reveal Blog Hop

scrap it off blog header

Hello my fellow scrappers!!  You should have hopped over from the SpiegelMom Scraps blog where you saw the fabulous new Sparklers Design Team!  I’m so very excited to have these girls designing with me!  I hope you all love the new sequins too.  They’ll be available in mid-August!!  If you’re just joining me today, please be sure to start over at the SpiegelMom Scraps blog where you’ll get all the crafty deets on this amazing blog hop!!

Ok, onto my layouts today!  Yes, I went a tad bit crazy and made two.  I was working with Khristina on the cut file and absolutely love how it turned out!  For my first layout, I MAY have staged this picture of two of my girls.  Don’t pretend like you’ve never done that LOL!!

I started with white American Crafts cardstock & Lemon Drop Dazzlerz by Shimmerz Paints. I used a small amount of water to dilute the Dazzlerz & use it more as a watercolor paint. It worked amazing as I brushed it over my cardstock.  Next up, I used Elle’s Studio’s Sunny Days to create the paper elements on my layout, along with Shimmerz Paintz Texturez in Marooned Over Miami & Mari-Gold Digger, teal Felt Fetti Hearts, Alma Mater sequins, navy May Arts burlap string, Cloudy Days Felties, a Studio Calico wood anchor, veneer and that fab cut file from designed by Khristina!!

A couple of my favorite elements on this layout are the May Arts burlap string wrapped around the hearts and the Shimmerz Texturez behind the hearts in the cut file. To create that effect I brushed some of the Texturez onto a piece of cardstock and allowed it to dry. Then I just fussy cut it so it would fit behind the cut file. I adhered that entire cut file to some craft foam and adhered it to my layout.

mermaid hair LOimage2image3

For my next layout, I also played with another cut file designed by Khristina, which was on the blog HERE, and combined it with the one released today.  This was so fun and fit perfectly with my photo and the Simple Stories Sunshine & Happiness collection. I filled all those beautiful hearts with papers from the collection, a piece of orange canvas from my stash and a teal Felt Fetti heart, which was trimmed down to size.   I love the extra texture and interest those simple fabrics create!  I also backed the PLAY cut file with that pretty light blue paper and then popped it up off the page for that dimension I love.

I scattered a few of my favorite cloud embellishments, Cloudy Days Felties and the new Summer Paradise Sequins & Cork Confetti Hearts (both released in mid-August).   I topped off my layout with some ink splatter and some journaling.

Untitled (2)image4 (1)image3 (1)

Thank you for spending your time with us today! I’d love for you be in the running for the prizes that I’m giving away on this blog hop, so be sure to leave comments on all the blogs to be entered! You have through July 31st to comment and enter. Sharing on social media will also earn you an extra entry. Just leave another comment letting us know where you shared the blog hop event. Easy Peasy!
Now, you’ll be heading over to Katty’s blog. I just know that girl will knock your scrappy socks right off!!  Enjoy the rest of the hop!!

 

47 thoughts on “Scrap It Off! Design Team Reveal Blog Hop

  1. What fantastic layouts! I love the hearts and all the different colours, patterns and textures you added to them. The second layout is so bright and cheerful and really caught my eye 🙂

  2. Love both of your layouts Jody !!! and the hearts on that cut file are so beautiful. I don’t own an electronic die cutter but can see that they will be pretty easy to fussy cut to double YAY. Thanks for putting on this event and thanks for your awesome shop xo

  3. Both layouts are stunning Jody!! Love the bright colors and the backed cut files!!! Im so honored and EXCITED to be on your team!!!

  4. Those layouts are fabulous! I really like how you used the cut file and that is the perfect ‘staged’ picture. Might have to blow up the pool and get my daughter swimming!

  5. Wow! I LOVE both of these layouts!! Such fun cut files and I love how you wrapped the string around the hearts and used the dazzlers on paper behind them!! Such fun textures! I’m so excited to be working with you!! 😍

  6. Love the cut files and how you backed them with that gorgeous paper! Love the color combinations too, I may have gotten a little bit addicted to your sequins so no page of mine is complete without them! Thank you!

  7. Awesome layouts! I really love that delicious yellow Shimmerz background on the first layout…both cutfiles are amazing…and I love how you added texture with the canvas and felt. (I wish I had an electronic die cutter to use the cut files ☺)

  8. Absolutely love the way you used the heart cut file on both layouts. And I definitely have posed my daughter for a photo (or 2 or 3…) lol 🙂 TFS!

Leave a Reply

