“Capture & Document Now” with Mixed Media

Hello everyone!  I’m happy to be back today for this layout share!  It’s cuddles all around in this picture for my hubby and our youngest daughter Abby.  I’m using up the last few chunks of Elle’s Studio Sunny Days collection and really want to stretch the last few pieces I have.  This is the perfect time for me to add in some mixed media!  I began my layout with a 12×12″ sheet of white textured American Crafts cardstock and two Shimmerz Paints Coloringz – No Yolking yellow and new color to SpiegelMom Scraps store, Mama Sings the Blues.  It’s a nice darker blue that’s not quite as navy.  It’s really beautiful!  I used the famous plastic packaging technique to smoosh those Coloringz onto my cardstock.  After that I used my WRMK stencil to create the fun arrows across my back ground and in either corner of the layout.  I used the beautiful teal Texturez, The Tide That Binds.  It’s so luscious!!

image1 (2) (1)

From there, I began to add layers of patterned paper under my sweet photo and pull embellishments from my stash and my SpiegelMom Scraps goodies.  You may remember the die cut hearts from Saturday’s layout HERE.  Well, I didn’t want those beautiful scraps to go to waste so I fussy cut around the heart die cuts and created more hearts to add to my layout.  I also die cut the same hearts from vellum which turned out so pretty!!  You can find that FREE die cut set right HERE.  There is also a challenge on the SpiegelMom Scraps blog through August 31st to create a project using the FREE cut file and link it up for your change to win.   Those details on the SMS blog in the same post as the free die cut.  So be sure to check it out!

Ok so, after I had the hearts where I wanted them,  I wanted to include some stamping as well.   I pulled out my  black pigment ink, light weight acrylic block and Cute Tags Stamp & Die Set by Kaisercraft.  I like this Kaisercraft pigment ink pad because it’s a crisp black in and actually dries pretty quickly on vellum.  Plus, it’s perfect size for people who don’t do a ton of stamping. 

The series of stamped images that are the same are from Amy Tangerine and Dear Lizzy roller stamps I had in my collection and the “remember this” is from the Kaisercraft Cute Stamp & Die set.  It’s so perfect for cards and scrapbooking! Those lovely wood veneer stars of from Elle’s Studio Sunny Days collection.  I picked up mine over at Paper Issues a couple weeks ago and just love it!

Thanks so much of stopping by today!  I hope you’ve enjoyed my layout and are inspired to do some mixed media on your next layout!  Enjoy your day.

Jody

Leave a Reply

