Sparklers Unite DT Blog Hop

Squads Unite DT Blog Hop (1)

Happy creative Monday!! You should have hopped over from the SpiegelMom Scraps blog and saw those super lucky prize winners!  Congrats ladies!! Ok so, I’m going to jump right into my layout!  The photo I chose was from the kick off of our local library’s summer reading program.  This year they did an awesome story walk which took us outside and walking around our scenic little town.  Each stop on our adventure had a different page of the story to read.  As we followed the story, each page took us down the street or around the corner.  We absolutely love it!!

Our Library story walk LO

I’ve been dying to use this amazing butterfly cut file from Hip Kit Club which was a special release during a blog hop a few months ago. I backed all those beautiful geometric openings with the Pink Paislee Fancy Free papers, then topped it off with several spritzes of my Mr Huey’s Shine. It added a lovely sheen to the butterfly that photos don’t do any justice!

Next I played with the placement a bit, then lightly marked my card stock in a few places just behind my butterfly so I knew when it would be on the page.  I set my butterfly aside, pulled out an Amy Tangerine stencil from my stash and grabbed my Tide That Binds Texturez.  I placed the Amy Tan stencil around in areas that would peak out from behind the butterfly and added the Texturez through the stencil very lightly with my finger.  I didn’t allow much of the gritty texture to stay behind as I really just wanted the color.   I really love that color and how this turned out.  Next I backed my butterfly with some craft foam (I get mine from Amazon HERE) to add the dimension I love so much.

image3 (2)

After I adhered my butterfly, I drew my ‘map’ around the butterfly and added some stops along the way with some punched circles from the Fancy Free paper.  Then I began to my little  Cork Fetti Hearts embellishments around my map, but I still needed a pop of color. After searching through my stash and trying to figure out what to add, I little light bulb went off!  I had a piece of scrap paper I used to die cut some cute little Kaisercraft Icon’s a couple weeks ago!  I was saving it but I didn’t know for what until today.  I used the heart negative as a little stencil and traced some hearts around my map and colored them in carefully with my No Yolking Coloringz.  I love the pop of color those cute little yellow hearts add to my layout!!  I also added some stamping with the fun Kaisercraft Cute Tags stamp and die set.  I love this set!!!  It’s perfect for scrapbooking or cards.

image2 (2)

Thank you so much for spending your time with us today!  Remember to leave your comments on all the blogs today and say hello to the new Sparklers DT!!  One lucky commenter will win a $10.oo credit to the shop which will be announced on August 5th.

Now you’re off to this month’s guest designer, Tuesday’s Talent, Mandi!!  Happy hopping!

14 thoughts on “Sparklers Unite DT Blog Hop

  1. What an amazing layout! I love how you used The Fancy Free papers and of course the butterfly diecut is stunning. Great idea to use the dash lines to signify the walk!

  2. I LOVE your layout!!!! That butterfly is so pretty and I can’t believe you spent all that time backing each space with a different patterned paper! I need to start using my cut files on my layouts more! They’re so much fun seeing on everyone’s layouts.

Leave a Reply

