SpiegelMom Scraps December Blog Hop & Product Reveal

13627180_10210633311695607_2386111361166711106_n-1

Hi everybody you should’ve hopped over from the SpiegelMom Scraps blog and checked out all of the brand-new sequin releases for the month of December. Thanks so much for being here! Today my layout was created with the brand-new Holiday Style paper collection from the fabulous new paper company, Wild Whisper Designs. I found these two lovely ladies, Heather and Suzy, on Instagram and instantly fell in love with their brand-new company. Those two ladies are amazing!  I’m super excited to announce that Wild Whisper is now carrying SpiegelMom Scraps products in their store!  This is great news for my Canadian friends!!   Please be sure to check them out and follow them on Instagram, Facebook and their blog.

12x12-holiday-style

Now for my layout!   I wanted to showcase a few of the different papers and the collection therefore I started with a piece of 12 x 12 white American Craft cardstock. This is definitely my “go to” cardstock as I love the subtle texture in it. I added some mixed media to the background using up my Shimmerz sprays in Hot Fudge and Moody Mauve. The Hot Fudge is a beautiful shimmery brown color which looks amazing in person.

dec

Next I cut three, 2 inch strips of three of the different papers and use them as the base of my design. I also added a couple of white doilies but then felt like it needed some more woodsy and natural texture. I knew I wanted to use my May Arts natural burlap string. This is the perfect way to add a little bit of texture to layouts and cards without adding a ton of bulk or weight. To add the burlap string I simply drew some squiggly lines with my tacky glue around where I knew I wanted my photos to go. After drawing some squiggly glue lines, I carefully laid the burlap string right into the glue and let it dry. It really looks cool when it’s glued down like this!  I also added some Birds of a Feather Felties here too! LOVE THIS TEXTURE!!

image2-11

After my burlap string and glue was dry I mounted my photos on some craft foam to add a little bit of dimension to lift them off of the page. Next, I chose the Evergreen Bough sequin mix which coordinates perfectly with the Wild Whisper Designers Holiday Style collection.  I wanted to add some more contrast interest to the page so I drew a another line of glue around the outer edge of the burlap string and decided to make a line of sequins. The green sequins in the Evergreen Bough mix really look cool next to the papers and the natural burlap string. I added some other sequins from the mix throughout the rest of the layout and finished it off with a few of my favorite Cork embellishments.

Below, I trimmed one of the Project Life cards into the shape of a feather and cut little slits along each side.  This was so fun to do and really added some more interest.  I layered a felt feather from the shop to really make them pop!

image3-6

I hope you enjoyed my layout and that you enjoy the rest of the hop today. Be sure to comment at all of our blogs for your chance to not only with a $10 gift card to the shop but also each one of the new sequin mixes revealed today! Next you’re off to Lisa’s blog and I have a feeling you’re going to love what she created!

p.s. In case you missed the previous blog post, here are the FREE Cut Files from SpiegelMom Scraps this month!  There’s also a fun Linky Party over on the SMS blog’s sidebar for anyone who creates a project using the free cut files this month.  You can link up with your  blog OR Instagram account, which is super easy!  Link up and you can win!

15 thoughts on “SpiegelMom Scraps December Blog Hop & Product Reveal

  1. This is a fantastic layout! I was so excited to see that Wild Whisper is carrying SMS sequins! I love the way you glued the twine down and then added sequins beside it- very pretty!

Leave a Reply

